Executive education ยท Checked October 25, 2026
C-suite programs: CFO, CMO, CTO, CISO and more
13 certificate programs from business schools for people preparing for a chief officer role. Shorter and cheaper than an executive MBA, and no degree at the end.
Executive MBA programs Cost compared EMBA vs MBA C-suite programs
CFO programs CMO programs CTO programs CISO programs CDO programs COO programs CHRO programs CPO programs CEO programs
CFO: Chief financial officer
| Program | Format | Length | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Emerging CFO ProgramWharton Executive Education | Online, with an optional two-day event in Philadelphia | 6 to 8 months | $14,000 Covers materials and online coursework; travel is extra. Delivered with Emeritus. | Finance and accounting professionals with at least 8 years of experience. |
| Chief Financial Officer ProgramColumbia Business School Executive Education | Online, live online and one in-person elective | 9 to 12 months | Not published Fee shown only through payment plans on the program page. Delivered with Emeritus. | Finance professionals with at least 10 years of experience preparing for CFO roles. |
CMO: Chief marketing officer
| Program | Format | Length | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chief Marketing Officer Program (in person)Kellogg School of Management | In person, two three-day sessions | Six days (May 10 to 12 and June 28 to 30, 2027) | Not published Invitation only; fee not on the page. | Marketers within 18 to 24 months of a CMO or equivalent role. |
| Chief Marketing Officer Program (online)Kellogg Executive Education | Online with a five-day campus visit | 6 to 7 months | Not published Fee shown only through payment plans on the program page. | Senior marketing leaders with at least 10 years of experience. |
CTO: Chief technology officer
| Program | Format | Length | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chief Technology Officer ProgramMIT Professional Education | Blended: online, live virtual and in person | 12 months | $34,500 | Technology leaders with at least 10 years of experience, including 3 managing technology projects. |
CISO: Chief information security officer
| Program | Format | Length | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chief Information Security Officer CertificateCarnegie Mellon University Heinz College | Live online plus residencies in Pittsburgh (virtual option) | 6 months (next cohort starts January 20, 2027) | $19,500 $15,600 for CMU alumni, U.S. government employees, veterans and nonprofit staff. | Experienced cybersecurity, technology and risk leaders. |
CDO: Chief data and AI officer
| Program | Format | Length | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chief Data and AI Officer ProgramCarnegie Mellon University Heinz College | Live online plus two campus sessions | 7 months | $17,850 $14,280 for CMU alumni, nonprofit staff, government employees and veterans. | Aspiring chief data officers and AI leaders with about 7 years of experience. |
COO: Chief operating officer
| Program | Format | Length | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Emerging Chief Operating Officer ProgramWharton Executive Education | Online, with a two-day immersion in Philadelphia | 6 to 8 months | $14,000 Covers materials; travel is extra. | Operations leaders with at least 8 years of experience. |
CHRO: Chief human resources officer
| Program | Format | Length | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CHRO ProgramUCLA Anderson Executive Education | Live online plus a five-day immersion in Los Angeles | 4 months (December 2026 to March 2027) | $15,000 Plus a $100 application fee. | Current and aspiring CHROs with at least 10 years of senior leadership experience. |
| Chief Human Resources Officer ProgramWharton Executive Education | Online, optional event in Philadelphia | 9 to 12 months | Not published Fee not stated on the page. Delivered with Emeritus. | Senior HR leaders with at least 10 years of experience. |
CPO: Chief product officer
| Program | Format | Length | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Emerging Chief Product Officer ProgramWharton Executive Education | Online, with a two-day event in Philadelphia | 6 to 8 months | $14,000 Covers materials; travel is extra. | Product leaders with at least 8 years of experience (not current CPOs). |
| Chief Product Officer ProgramKellogg Executive Education | Online and live online, optional three-day campus event | 12 months | Not published Fee not stated on the page. | Senior and mid-career product leaders with at least 10 years of experience. |
CEO: Chief executive officer
| Program | Format | Length | Fee | For |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chief Executive Officer ProgramColumbia Business School Executive Education | In person, online and live online | 8 to 10 months (December 17, 2026 to October 30, 2027) | $32,000 | C-suite executives preparing for the CEO role, and new CEOs of small and mid-sized firms. |
Certificate or executive MBA?
These programs focus on one role and take 4 to 12 months, mostly online. An executive MBA takes about two years and costs far more, but ends in a degree and covers every part of running a business. Many of the online certificates are run with Emeritus, an online education company; the certificate comes from the school.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a CFO or CTO program cost?
Of the programs here that publish a fee, prices run from $14,000 (Wharton's emerging CFO, COO and CPO programs) to $34,500 (MIT's CTO program). The Columbia CEO program is $32,000.
Do C-suite programs require a degree?
Most ask for experience instead: usually 8 to 10 years of work, and fluency in English.
Every figure comes from the program's own page, checked October 25, 2026. Schools change tuition for each entering class, so confirm with admissions before you apply. The College Scorecard does not report executive MBAs separately, so these programs are not part of our federal data pages.